Vikki Slade elected as leader of BCP Council

26 May 2023

Following an incredible set of election results across the three towns, Councillor Vikki Slade has been elected to become the leader of BCP Council. 

With 28 seats, the Lib Dems are the largest party on BCP Council and, as well as leading the council, Vikki is heading up the Three Towns Alliance - an alliance that includes the Christchurch Independents, Bournemouth Independents and Poole People. Together they hold 44 seats. 

The Green Party are also loosely involved with a Confidence and Support Agreement which ensures that the council’s response to climate change and a review of the governance structure of the council is prioritised. These issues are already important to Councillor Slade and the Liberal Democrats, so they were pleased to confirm this and to indicate a range of additional measures to improve community involvement and environmental responsibility.

Details of the council’s new priorities will be shared over the next few weeks as the new team understands more about the financial constraints under which they will be working and considers how to prioritise new projects alongside the considerable workload that the council already has. 

Councillor Slade said: “I am delighted and honoured to have been chosen to lead this council again. We live in a beautiful place with huge potential, but there is so much that needs to be done so that people and communities realise that potential.

"This administration will be based on the solid foundations of openness, transparency, accountability, honesty and integrity.” 

She added: "The council will be welcoming to everyone, with decisions that are explained, questions answered, a place where challenge and scrutiny is embraced and encouraged."

“This means we’ll be prioritising the things that matter to you. We want you to have confidence in us to work with and for you, knowing that we’re on your side. We know that won’t happen overnight and we need to earn your trust.”

The Three Towns Alliance Cabinet is:

• Cllr Millie Earl, Deputy Leader and Connected Communities (Liberal Democrat)

• Cllr David Brown, Health and Wellbeing (Liberal Democrat)

• Cllr Richard Burton, Children and Young People (Liberal Democrat)

• Cllr Mike Cox, Finance (Liberal Democrat)

• Cllr Andy Hadley, Climate Response, Environment and Energy (Poole People - Independent and local)

• Cllr Jeff Hanna, Transformation and Resource (Liberal Democrat)

• Cllr Andy Martin, Customer, Communications and Culture (Christchurch Independents)

• Cllr Kieron Wilson, Housing, Planning and Regulation (Independent)

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.